Blue’s Clues Rag Quilt

IMG_5571

This is a crib-size blanket

Once again, another baby quilt. This one came almost entirely out of our scrap fabric bin. We were one square of yellow short, so I went and bought a dark purple for the back and was able to make the quilt almost twice the size it would have been. And, the nice thing is that I used up all the purple, so I actually have no scraps left over from this quilt. How neat is that?

IMG_5574

This is the first blanket I’ve ever done that utilizes four colors, and I really like it.

IMG_5572

Tip regarding the four colors, mixing light and dark: pre-wash all fabric. I almost always do this with my fabric, but sometimes I skip when I think it won’t matter. This one matters because the darker fabrics can bleed into the lighter colors if not pre-washed. Even then, maybe consider using a color catcher in the wash to avoid staining the lighter colors.

One response to “Blue’s Clues Rag Quilt

Leave a comment